Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 13, 2020

Alex Azar Secretary Department of Health and Human Services 200 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20201

Dear Secretary Azar:

We write to urge you to establish a Special Enrollment Period to be applicable to all Affordable Care Act Marketplace coverage, including those using healthcare.gov as well as state-based marketplaces, during the COVID-19 pandemic. Many among the close to 30 million Americans living without insurance¹ and estimated 44 million who are underinsured² would benefit from such a declaration. As outbreaks emerge and community spread continues in the United States, our most vulnerable neighbors are those who lack comprehensive health coverage. Without that coverage, they are unlikely to seek treatment for COVID-19, leaving all in our community at risk.

You declared COVID-19 a public health emergency on January 31st. Responding to that emergency must include ensuring access to insurance coverage so patients can seek treatment for COVID-19. There is precedent for HHS declaring a Special Enrollment Period during an emergency. In 2017, HHS established a Special Enrollment Period for patients living in areas FEMA deemed eligible for assistance following Hurricanes Irma, Maria, Nate, and Harvey. Similarly, a Special Enrollment Period was established in 2019 for areas affected by Hurricane Dorian.

Providing an opportunity for more Americans to seek health coverage is an important step in assuring public health during this crisis. Without effective action, we are concerned that Americans will not be adequately protected against current and future coronavirus outbreaks. We look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Lloyd Doggett

Ted W. Lieu

Chris Pappas

¹ https://www.kff.org/uninsured/issue-brief/key-facts-about-the-uninsured-population/

² https://www.advisory.com/daily-briefing/2019/02/08/underinsured

		8
Debbie Wasserman Schultz	John Garamendi	Rosa DeLauro
Bradley S. Schneider	Kathy Castor	Jesús G. "Chuy" Garcia
Terri A. Sewell	Donald S. Beyer Jr.	Albio Sires
Eliot L. Engel	Juan Vargas	Mike Thompson
Gerald E. Connolly	Angie Craig	Dina Titus
Susan Wild	Alan Lowenthal	Chellie Pingree
Joaquin Castro	Rashida Tlaib	John B. Larson
David Trone	Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr.	Dwight Evans
1. K. J		
Jan Schakowsky	Brenda L. Lawrence	Nydia Velázquez
2		
Eleanor Holmes Norton	Wm. Lacy Clay	Lizzie Fletcher

Gregory W. Meeks

Katie Porter

Mark Pocan

Ro Khanna

Tom Malinowski

Mark Takano

Thomas R. Suozzi

Ruben Gallego

Sheila Jackson Lee

Marcy Kaptur

Marc Veasey

Eddie Bernice Johnson

Pramila Jayapal

Suzan DelBene

Mary Gay Scanlon

Daniel W. Lipinski

Barbara Lee

Jackie Speier

Abigail D. Spanberger

John Lewis

Peter A. DeFazio

Emanuel Cleaver, II

Vicente Gonzalez

Ron Kind

Daniel T. Kildee

Brian Higgins

Debbie Dingell

Steve Cohen

Brendan F. Boyle

Steven Horsford

Jared Huffman

Derek Kilmer

Maxine Waters

Jennifer Wexton

Ayanna Pressley

Bobby L. Rush

Joe Neguse

Jason Crow

Diana DeGette

Xochitl Torres Small

Frederica Wilson

Yvette D. Clarke

Veronica Escobar

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson

Haley M. Stevens

Jahana Hayes

Alcee L. Hastings

Ted Deutch

Adam Schiff

Sylvia R. Garcia

Mike Quigley

David N. Cicilline

Charlie Crist

Gwen Moore

Bill Pascrell, Jr.

Al Green

Earl Blumenauer

Dean Phillips

Andy Levin

Jerry McNerney

Raul M. Grijalva

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez

Danny K. Davis

Bill Foster

Joseph P. Kennedy, III

Paul D. Tonko

Jamie Raskin

James P. McGovern

Joseph D. Morelle

Colin Allred

Norma Torres

Scott H. Peters

Stephanie Murphy

Filemon Vela

Henry Cuellar