Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

September 27, 2018

The Honorable Paul D. Ryan Speaker U.S. House of Representatives H-232 The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Majority Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-329 The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Democratic Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-204 The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Steny Hoyer Democratic Whip U.S. House of Representatives H-148 The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Speaker Ryan, Leader Pelosi, Majority Leader McCarthy, and Whip Hoyer,

As we near the end of the 115th Congress, we would like to draw your attention to an unresolved issue of importance to our constituents and states' economies. The Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018 passed in February this year retroactively extended the biodiesel tax incentive for 2017, but left it expired for 2018 and beyond. We strongly support a multi-year extension of the incentive to provide the policy certainty necessary to help the biodiesel industry and rural economies continue to grow.

Biodiesel blenders, producers, truck drivers, consumers, and farmers share the benefits of the biodiesel and renewable diesel tax incentive. The incentive lowers the price of fuel truck drivers pay which lowers the cost of consumer goods they haul. Biodiesel production can add roughly 63 cents of value to every bushel of soybeans. During a time when farm income is at its lowest point in more than a decade, crop prices are below the cost of production, and agriculture markets are bearing the brunt of trade disputes, this value is especially important.

Biodiesel has been and continues to be a great American success story. It is made from a diverse mix of resources, including recycled cooking oil in the Northeast and Northwest, and animal fats in the South. It has diversified our fuel supply to help increase our nation's energy security and provides environmental benefits, including reductions of waste and emissions. Biodiesel production supports more than 60,000 U.S. jobs and helps rural communities across the country build new economic opportunities.

Biodiesel and renewable diesel producers are putting investments on hold in the face of the uncertainty created by the off-again, on-again nature of tax incentive eligibility. A multi-year

extension of the biodiesel and renewable diesel incentives will provide the industry the certainty it needs to continue to generate the economic and environmental public benefits. We look forward to working with you in the coming weeks to resolve this issue of great importance to us and our constituents.

Sincerely,

David Young

Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Ann Wagner

Member of Congress

Steve King Member of Congress

Brett Guthrie Member of Congress

Peter DeFazio

Member of Congress

Dave

Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos Member of Congress

Vicky Hartzler Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Jackie Walorski Member of Congress

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

Marcy Kapur Member of Congress

Rodney Davis Member of Congress

Limes Comer Member of Congress

Collin I kan

Collin C. Peterson Member of Congress

Rosa J. De Jamo

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

Adam Kinzinger Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

John B. Larson

Member of Congress

anid Mailline David N. Cicilline

Member of Congress

Kevin Yoder Member of Congress

Sam Graves Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Mike Kelly

Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis

Member of Congress

ortenberry Member of Congre

Tim Walz Member of Congress

land Lucille Roybal-Allard

Member of Congress

Blaine Luctkemeyer Member of Congress

sty Enzabeth H. Esty Member of Congress

ber of Congress

Ron Estes Member of Congress

Michelle he

Michelle Lujan Grisham Member of Congress

Kristi Noem Member of Congress

Wm. Lacy C

Member of Congress

meon s R. Langevin ame

Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

din

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Richard M. Nolan Member of Congress

Vason Smith Member of Congress

Emanuel eave

Member of Congress

Ron Kind

Kon Kind Member of Congress

had Blue

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress Dwight Evans Member of Congress