Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

September 13, 2016

The Honorable Paul D. Ryan Speaker of the House of Representatives H-232, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy U.S. House of Representatives H-107, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Ryan and Majority Leader McCarthy,

Earlier this year, the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee unanimously reported out of committee H.R. 5303, the Water Resources Development Act of 2016. We are writing to urge you to bring the Water Resources Development Act of 2016 to the House floor before the end of the fiscal year.

The Water Resources Development Act authorizes twenty-eight critical Army Corps of Engineers Civil Works projects across the country, strengthens the Harbor Maintenance Trust Fund, and makes a number of commonsense reforms to improve the management of water resources across the United States. Also, this legislation is fiscally responsible – as the cost of the bill is fully offset by deauthorizing projects that are no longer viable.

Allocating floor time for the Water Resources Development Act would also reflect a bipartisan commitment to invest in our water infrastructure and promote environmental restoration. The bill's navigation and lock improvements would help facilitate the \$1.4 trillion of goods that move through American ports each year and the 600 million tons of cargo that move through our inland waterways. Continued investment in flood risk reduction and management will help mitigate the \$28 billion cost in annual storm damage.

Finally, it is critical that Congress restore the practice of passing a Water Resources Development Act biennially. Regularly passing this legislation will enable us to take full advantage of new opportunities such as the Panama Canal expansion and to continuously invest responsibly in our aging water infrastructure.

Thank you for considering this request. We look forward to collaborating with you to strengthen our water resources infrastructure and advancing this important and time-sensitive legislation to the president's desk.

Sincerely,

Mark Sanford Member of Congres

1/1 E. Blake Farenthold

Member of Congress

W

Randy Weber Member of Congress

Denny Heck Member of Congress

lonlo an

Paul Tonko Member of Congress

Jared Huffman

Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga Member of Congress

rankel

Lois Frankel Member of Congress

kim Jeff Duncan

Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Janice Hahn Member of Congress

Richard M. Nolan Member of Congress

Kou David Rouzer

David Rouzer Member of Congress

Ber

Suzan DelBene Member of Congress

ble Reid Ribble

Member of Congress

Kurt Schrader Member of Congress

Patrick E. Murphy

Member of Congress

Can Lowenthal

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Carlos Curbelo Member of Congress



Filemon Vela

Member of Congress

Dilson

Frederica Wilson Member of Congress

Renter

Jaime Herrera Beutler Member of Congress

Brian Babin Member of Congress

Daniel M. Donovan, Jr. Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Richard Hanna Member of Congress

Peter King Member of Congress

Albio Sires

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

di OMOLT

Donna Edwards Member of Congress

C. Carne John Carney

Member of Congress

Frank Guinta Member of Congress

arletta

Lou Barletta Member of Congress

ende Nadle

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

Grace Meng

Member of Congress

bubara Constock

Barbara Comstock Member of Congress

ohn Duncan Aember of Congress

Cheri Bustos

Member of Congress

John Katko Member of Congress

Brick Re A

Michelle Lujan Grisham Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Hakeem Jeffnes Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

Jons 0950

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Larry Bucshon, M.D.

Member of Congress

Rodney Davis Member of Congress

Jim McDermott Member of Congress

Frank LoBiondo Member of Congress

Rich Farson

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

110

Ryan Costello Member of Congress

tur nar

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Janne Branin

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Walter Jones

Member of Congress

en

Emanuel Cleaver Member of Congress

Leonard Lance Member of Congress

Hood

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Mick Mulvaney Member of Congress

Curt Clawson Member of Congress

'oodall Rob

Member of Congress

Gene Green Member of Congress

man Massie

Thomas Massie Member of Congress

Mora Mike Honda

Mike Honda Member of Congress

Endie Bennie Johnson

Eddie Bernice Johnson Member of Congress

Michel I. WC

Michael McCaul Member of Congress

Ron DeSantis Member of Congress

David P. Joyce

Member of Congress

Ami Bera Member of Congress

Mike Bost

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

ne Barbara Lee

Member of Congress

Wilson

Joe Wilson Member of Congress

Ron Kind Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Bobby Scott Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Ø Member of Congress

Scott Peters Member of Congress

Pete Visclosky Member of Congress

blie Wasserman Schul Debbie Wasserman Schultz

Member of Congress

Andre Carson Member of Congress

Mike Quigley

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

the

Louise M. Slaughter Member of Congress

les Trey Gowd

Member of Congress

Earl L "Buddy" Carter

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

mil B. MT Le

David B. McKinley, P.E. Member of Congress

Rick Crawford Member of Congress

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress

Tim Walberg Member of Congress

Ralph Abraham Member of Congress

Tim Ryan

Member of Congress

- The

Stephen Fincher Member of Congress

Janly NÉ.

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

David Young Member of Congress

Tom Rice Member of Congress

le Eric Swalwell

Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Adam Kinzinger Member of Congress

ettet

Ted Deutch Member of Congress

Cedric L. Richmond Member of Congress

Niki Tsongas

Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Sean P. Duffy Member of Congress

Berl

Ben Ray Luján Member of Congress

ten Aune Steve Russell

Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Member of Congress

Bradley Byrne

Member of Congress

Kevin Cramer Member of Congress

Vicky Hartzler Member of Congress

shus Bill Johnson

Member of Congress

Re a Den

Charles W. Dent Member of Congress

Butterfield

Member of Congress

Jones

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

David Scott

Member of Congress

Brad Ashford Member of Congress

Mike Fitzpatrick

Mike Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Landenal

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

An

French Hill Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Matt Cartwright Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez

Member of Congress

00

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

au Jackie Speier Member of Congress

mne

Tom Emmer Member of Congress

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

rhe

Randy Forbes Member of Congress

Lynn Westmoreland Member of Congress

David Loebsack Member of Congress

Steve Israel Member of Congress

20 Jody Hic

Member of Congress

Steve King Member of Congress

GRAVES

Tom Graves Member of Congress

Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress